Aries New Moon - A New Beginning

by Guru Rattana, Ph.D. - Issue #85, March 17, 2004

I like having three new beginnings every year:

  1. New Years Day - the beginning of the calendar year,
  2. the Chinese New Year on the New Moon in Aquarius and
  3. the Vernal Equinox - the beginning of spring, and another journey through the Zodiac.

The Sun begins a new cycle in Aries at 10:49pm PST March 19th. For everyone east of the west coast, the Vernal Equinox and the new initiation into Aries begins early morning March 20th. The New Moon in 0° Aries is also March 20th at 2:41pm PST.

So where should we focus our attention during our ride through Aries terrain? March 19/20 through April 18th. Aries is the archetype for the Self - our human personality/Soul/body, all in one complex, complete expression. Aries represents our personal identity, our capacities, our qualities, our attributes. In sum, everything that makes us who we are. Aries introduces the main actor in our life's movie - ME!

The Fiery Ram

As I write these words (Sun still in Pisces), I am starting to feel the fiery Aries energy run through my blood. This molten energy is strikingly different from the cool, soothing Piscean waters. I indulge in Pisces' peace by immersing myself in the Piscean ocean of oneness, before it disappears and the aggressive Ram dominates the stage. On the other hand, I love the Aries exuberance and enthusiasm for life. I will welcome the vitality that makes me feel so alive and makes it possible to get things done. I am hoping to retain some of the Piscean ability to relax and let go. These will be very useful palliatives to balance out Aries' itchy, impulsive and defensive nature. When my inner Aries gets angry and upset, I will have my Pisces essence spray balm handy.

Aries loves activities. The Ram is the do-do-doer and always on the go-go-go. The key to Aries enlightenment is that it has to also master being its be-be-being while it is do-do-doing. When it loses itself in endless actions and projects, it gets frustrated. It thinks this is because it has too much to do, but it really is because it has become too external and lost connection with its soul. Aries is supposed to explore the world in order to find itself, not as a diversion to lose itself. As Aries learns about connecting with and defining itself, the roller coaster ride becomes less erratic and bumpy and more focused and enjoyable.

It's all about Me

An Aries' bumper sticker could be It's all about ME! If this phrase invokes images of narcissistic egomaniacs, you have tuned into the lower, unconscious manifestation of Aries. However, at higher levels of awareness, these words can be a touchstone for self-empowerment and taking full responsibility for our lives.

One of the main lessons our inner Aries has to teach us, is to look to ourselves as the cause of all the effects that happen in our lives. Have you ever noticed how many Aries attract one challenging situation after another? Dramas seem to unfold like clockwork in their lives. All these situations give Aries a chance to notice how they are projecting, and as a consequence, what they are attracting. Over time, Aries learns that who I am determines what I create.

We all have Aries' energy in our birth chart, so while the Sun is in Aries, we have a chance to take our Aries' lessons seriously. The ultimate Aries' goal is to align our personality with our soul. Achieving soul identity is a lifelong pursuit. A major turning point in our lives occurs when we decide to consciously focus in the direction of our soul. Committing our life to discovering our soul, and to aligning our personality with our soul, makes our journey through the rest of the Zodiac much more purposeful and meaningful.

Waking up Aries

Things seem to just happen to the asleep Ram. This is because its decisions are unconscious. As Aries wakes up, it realizes that only through conscious decision making can it choreograph its own personal dance. Aries moves out of victimhood as it takes responsibility for directing its own movie. While the Sun is in Aries, we are all supported in moving into the director's chair of our life's movie.

Aries makes sure we know from the beginning that our lives will always be filled with challenges. Our task is not to try to eliminate the challenges. Our task is to devise a reasonable and responsible approach, to living a fulfilling life as situations and opportunities unfold. In the Aries' world, every challenge is a chance to learn more about how to navigate the soul's human journey. Aries teaches us to focus on ourselves, so we don't get entangled in other people's dramas. Aries teaches how to establish our unique identity, so we can accurately define our needs, and make wise decisions to get our needs met. When we know who we are, what we want, and what works for us, we can be in relationships without getting lost, or resorting to being unavailable as a substitute for defining and communicating boundaries.

The most important thing we can learn from Aries is how to be in harmony with ourselves. How can we think clearly for ourselves? How can we simply be who we are? How can we feel complete and satisfied in our own skin? Pursuing the path of self-knowledge is the Aries' direct path to the Divine. When we are in harmony with ourselves, we are in harmony with the Universe.

Your Life is in Your Chakras by Guru Rattana PhD

Your Life is in Your Chakras by Guru Rattana, Ph.D., is a comprehensive guide on how to use the chakra system for self-analysis, personal growth, and spiritual awakening.

• expand your understanding of yourself

• find soul meaning and purpose in your life

• awaken the powers, faculties, and gifts available in all your chakras

• be uplifted and enjoy all aspects of your life

Kundalini Yoga - Aries' Identity Exercise Set

While the Sun is in Aries, commit to establishing an energetic sense of your identity in your own skin. Nabhi Kriya(1) is a great Kundalini Yoga set to cultivate this full-body sensory awareness.

Nabhi Kriya helps us establish our identity in our body. It works on the first three chakras. The first three chakras make it possible to establish and maintain our personal identity. The upper chakras, on the other hand, deal with impersonal energies.(2) Aligning the first chakra at the base of the spine, we establish a conscious connection with the Earth and our body. We feel safe being in our body on Planet Earth. Our goal for the second chakra is to relax and let go. When the second chakra is rhythmic, we feel full and satisfied. The third chakra is our power center. We must feel a pulse at the navel. When we do, we feel empowered because we actually have the centered energy to accomplish our goals.

While practicing this set, focus on yourself and your inner fire. Get in touch with the energy that makes it possible to move and be alive. Be aware of the energies at the base of the spine, in the spine, in the whole abdominal region, and then right at the navel center. No stories please. One great thing about the lower chakras is that we can get out of our heads and be in the now. Tune into and experience non-verbal sensations, and use them to establish an energetic definition of your presence/identity. Do this set every morning for 40 days and see what happens in your life. I bet you will notice something significant has happened.

Here's to YOU and ME!

References and Footnotes

1. This set can be found on page 55 in Transitions to a Heart-Centered World

2. For in depth information about the chakras see my book Your Life is in Your Chakras.


For news of all the latest astrological events, check out Guru Rattana Blog